Y Media- The biggest South Asian Media House|Monday, January 21, 2019
You are here: Home » Sports » ICC ODI&TEST TEAM 2014 :- Dhoni, Kohli, Shami in ICC ODI Team
  • Follow Us!

ICC ODI&TEST TEAM 2014 :- Dhoni, Kohli, Shami in ICC ODI Team 


Dubai, Nov 5 (IANS) India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, explosive batsman Virat Kohli and talented pacer Mohammed Shami were Wednesday included in the prestigious ICC One-Day International (ODI) Team of the Year 2014 while Rohit Sharma also got into the list as the 12th man.

However, Indian cricketers also had to face disappointment as none were named in the ICC Test Team of the Year 2014.

Dhoni has been selected in the ODI Team for the eighth time, seventh year in a row, and the fifth year that he has been appointed captain. Players previously selected in the team are AB de Villiers (2010, 2011 and 2013), Kohli (2012) and Ajantha Mendis (2009).

Meanwhile, Sri Lanka’s Angelo Mathews has been named captain of the Test side that also includes two more Sri Lankans in Kumar Sangakkara and Rangana Herath. This is the seventh time since 2006 that Sangakkara has been selected in the Test team. He missed out in 2009 and 2013.

Dale Steyn has also been selected for a record seventh successive year while teammate de Villiers has been selected for the fifth time (2009, 2010, 2011, 2013 and 2014).

Stuart Broad (2009, 2011 and 2012) and Mitchell Johnson (2009) are the other players who have previously been included in the Test team.

The squads were announced at the International Cricket Council (ICC) headquarters here by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by ICC Cricket Committee chairman and former India captain Anil Kumble.

“I would like to congratulate all the players for their selection in the teams of the year. It is an achievement to be proud of and a recognition for their good performances in the qualifying period,” said Kumble.

“We have selected the best possible sides which are well balanced and capable of beating any side on any given day in any given conditions.”

Kumble was joined on the panel by Jonathan Agnew, former England international, ex-Sri Lanka opener Russel Arnold, former New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming and Betty Timmer, former chair of the ICC Women’s Committee.

ICC Test Team of the Year 2014 (in batting order): David Warner (Aus), Kane Williamson (NZ), Kumar Sangakkara (SL), AB de Villiers (SA), Joe Root (Eng), Angelo Mathews (SL) (captain), Mitchell Johnson (Aus), Stuart Broad (Eng), Dale Steyn (SA), Rangana Herath (SL), Tim Southee (NZ), Ross Taylor (NZ) (12th man).

ICC ODI Team of the Year 2014 (in batting order): Mohammad Hafeez (Pak), Quinton de Kock (SA), Virat Kohli (Ind), George Bailey (Aus), AB de Villiers (SA), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicketkeeper-captain) (Ind), Dwayne Bravo (WI), James Faulkner (Aus), Dale Steyn (SA), Mohammad Shami (Ind), Ajantha Mendis (SL), Rohit Sharma (Ind) (12th man).

Courtesy: IANS

Courtesy: IANS

Courtesy: IANS

Courtesy: IANS

Related posts: