Y Media- The biggest South Asian Media House|Thursday, November 15, 2018
You are here: Home » Sports » Cricket » Proteas aim for winning start against India A
  • Follow Us!

Proteas aim for winning start against India A 

New Delhi, Sep 28 (IANS) South Africa will hope to kick off their tour on a winning note when they take on India A in a Twenty20 warm-up game here on Tuesday.

The visitors will field a mixture of youth and experience led by Faf du Plessis and will aim to get a feel of Indian conditions before the series kicks off with a Twenty20 International in Dharamshala on October 2.

The Proteas boast a strong batting line-up boasting of stars like J.P. Duminy, AB de Villiers, du Plessis and the elegant Hashim Amla.

Add David Miller, who is a part of Indian Premier League (IPL) outfit Kings XI Punjab, and Quinton de Kock to the mix and the Indian bowlers will have a tough task task on their hands.

Albie Morkel — one of the star performers for Chennai Super Kings in the IPL — is also a dangerous customer lower down the order.

The South African bowling unit also sports a formidable look with Morkel, Chris Morris, Imran Tahir and Kyle Abbott all being well versed in sub-continental conditions thanks to their experience in the IPL.

Rookie pacer Kagiso Rabada and middle-order batsman Khaya Zondo will hope to stake a claim to a regular place in the South Africa side should they get a look in at the Air Force Ground in Palam.

Facing the tourists will be a relatively inexperienced India A side led by Mandeep Singh.

The Indians will bank on talented opener Mayank Agarwal to see them off to a good start. Mandeep will be one of the crucial players in the middle-order along with Manish Pandey and Sanju Samson.

Spinners Yuzvendra Chahal, Pawan Negi and Kuldeep Yadav will spearhead the India A bowling along with pacers Rishi Dhawan and Anureet Singh.

Apart from a place in the regular India side for the series against South Africa, the Indian youngsters will also aim to stake a claim for a spot in the national squad for the World T20 which starts in March next year.


India A: Mandeep Singh (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Manan Vohra, Manish Pandey, Surya Kumar Yadav, Sanju Samson, Hardik Pandya, Rishi Dhawan, Anureet Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal, Pawan Negi, Kuldeep Yadav.

South African XI: Faf du Plessis (capt), Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, Marchant de Lange, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, Eddie Leie, Kyle Abbott, David Miller, Chris Morris, Kagiso Rabada, Albie Morkel, Khaya Zondo.

Related posts: