Y Media- The biggest South Asian Media House|Monday, August 19, 2019
You are here: Home » Community » Sanjay Makkar elected as 27th President of ICCC
  • Follow Us!

Sanjay Makkar elected as 27th President of ICCC 

Sanjay Makkar was elected as 27th President of the Indo-Canada Chamber of Commerce (ICCC) Thursday June 25 at the Chamber’s Annual General Meeting.

Six directors were also elected to the new board of the Chamber. These include one director from the outgoing board – Pathik Baxi who has been re-elected for a two-year term.

Five new directors elected are:

• Abubakkar Noohujohn

• Ajay Tandon

• Arun Srivastava

• Kanwarjit Dhanjal

• Pappur Shankar

All of them have been elected for a two-year term. For the first time in the Chamber’s history, the elections of the directors were held through electronic voting, and it received an unprecedented participation. Former president Rakesh Goenka, who was the returning officer, announced the results.

Mr. Makkar, along with Jagdish Bajaj and Ginni Sethi are the other elected directors on the board, who were elected last year, and are in the middle of their two-year term.

Speaking about his priorities, the new president emphasized that while the board will ensure continuity, it will be geared towards radically changing the orientation of the chamber.

“2015 will be a year of change,” he declared.

Mr. Makkar said he would follow a three-pronged approach during his tenure as the Chamber’s President:

Governance & Transparency: Making chamber’s operations accountable to stakeholders

Robust financials: Raising revenue from diverse sources, and rationalizing expenses

Broad based, inclusive growth: Membership growth to focus on small entrepreneurs across Canada.

Mr. Makkar added: “The 2015 will be a year when the chamber’s leadership will work together with stakeholders and members to bring about better governance, make the operation completely transparent, work towards making the financials more robust and make the chamber’s composition more inclusive and broad based.”

He also said that for a community that is growing rapidly, the Chamber should reflect the complexity and the diversity of the Indo Canadians, and especially cater to the needs of those members who are entrepreneurs and professionals.

More than a 250 members participated in the Chamber’s annual general meeting, including several past presidents and former board members. Former President Ravi Seethapathy chaired the meeting.

Mr. Brij K Sharma, Vice President, Finance & SME submitted the financial statement for 2014-15.

Related posts: