Y Media- The biggest South Asian Media House|Tuesday, October 15, 2019
You are here: Home » Uncategorized » Punjab » Three BJP councillors join Cong in Phagwara
  • Follow Us!

Three BJP councillors join Cong in Phagwara 

Phagwara, October 3

In a setback to the BJP’s Phagwara camp, its three councillors joined the Congress here today. Om Parkash Bittu, Vikki Sood and Tripta Sharma, along with their supporters, joined the Congress in presence of Punjab Cabinet Minister Sunder Sham Arora and former minister Joginder Singh Maan.

With this, Congress candidate Balwinder Singh Dhaliwal has got a shot in the arm.

Of the BJP rebels, Tripta Sharma belongs to Vijay Sampla’s faction. Om Parkash Bittu wanted a BJP ticket but he was miffed when the party announced the candidature of Rajesh Bagha. Bittu has worked for Union Minister Som Parkash as a personal assistant (PA). Later, owing to some issues with him, Bittu had joined the camp of Vijay Sampla.

At the event, Congress leaders, including block president Sanjeev Bugga, were also present. The Congress leaders claimed that the majority of the Jain community, led by Mahinder Pal Jain, was supporting the party.


In another development, SAD leader Baljinder Singh Thekedar, who had filed papers to contest elections against BJP candidate Rajesh Bagha, has finally withdrawn his nomination. SAD leaders, including Jarnail Singh Wahid (advocate) and Baldev Singh Khaira (MLA), succeeded in convincing Thekedar. Today was the last day to withdraw nominations. A total of 16 candidates, including covering members, had filed nominations, and now only nine candidates are left in the fray.

Candidates get poll symbols

The candidates of noted groups — Congress, BJP, BSP and AAP — have got their party symbols. Charanjit Kumar of the People’s Party of Democrats has got fruit basket as poll symbol. The symbols of Paramjit (SAD-A), Sonu (Vishal Party of India), Jarnail Nangal (Lok Insaaf Party) and Neetu (Independent) are truck, stool, letter box and bat, respectively.

Related posts: