Y Media- The biggest South Asian Media House|Saturday, February 16, 2019
You are here: Home » Sports » Cricket » West Indies humiliate India in Kochi ODI
  • Follow Us!

West Indies humiliate India in Kochi ODI 

Kochi, Oct 8 (IANS) India suffered a batting collapse losing five wickets for 63 runs as West Indies, riding an unbeaten century from Marlon Samuels, started the five-match series with a massive 124 runs win in the first ODI at the Nehru Stadium here Wednesday.

Marlon Samuels struck a superb unbeaten century to fire the West Indies to an impressive 321 for six in 50 overs.

Chasing a stiff target, India made a good start with openers Ajinkya Rahane (28) and Shikhar Dhawan (68) adding 49 runs for the first wicket. Rahane was run out after a poor call that saw both the openers ending up at the same end and soon India were reduced to 83 for four.

Dhawan, however, kept scoreboard moving and hit nine fours in his 92 balls knock but he saw wickets falling a regular intervals at the other end. The Delhi batsman fell in the 29th over triggering a batting collapse as India lost last five wickets for 63 runs.

Ravindra Jadeja played a lone hand and remained unbeaten on 33 from 36 balls.

Samuels picked up two wickets with his off-spin and was adjudged as Man of the Match. Pacers Ravi Rampaul and Dwayne Bravo also picked up two wickets each.

Early, Samuels struck a crafty 126 not out off 116 deliveries, his sixth ODI hundred, as West Indies batsmen plundered the Indian bowling after being put in by Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

Samuels’ 116-ball innings was studded with 11 fours and four sixes. Denesh Ramdin also made 61 while Dwayne Smith scored 46.

Recalled for the series against India after being dropped for the recent tour to Bangladesh, Samuels scored freely and posted 165 for the fourth wicket with Ramdin, who struck five fours and two sixes in his 59 ball innings.

West Indies started the innings with skipper Bravo (17) promoting himself up the order to open with Smith. But the move failed as the all-rounder was dismissed in the 8th over with 34 runs on board after scoring just 17 runs.

However, Smith and stylish left-hander Darren Bravo (28) added 64 for the second wicket to give the West Indies a stable start. Smith struck four fours and two sixes during his 45-ball stay but both the batsmen fell in quick succession to leave the West Indies at 120 for three in the 23rd over.

Samuels and Ramdin then took control of the innings to lead a Caribbean onslaught that left the Indian bowling unit look like a hapless lot.

For India, pacer Mohammed Shami was the pick of the bowlers, bagging four for 66 from his nine overs while spinners Ravindra Jadeja and Amit Mishra picked up a wicket each. Pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar was the most economical, conceding 38 runs from his full quota of 10 overs.


Kochi, Oct 8 (IANS) The following is the scoreboard of the first ODI between the West Indies and India at the Nehru Stadium here Wednesday:

West Indies:
Dwayne Smith b Jadeja 46
Dwayne Bravo c Dhawan b Mohammed Shami 17
Darren Bravo c Dhawan b Mishra 28
Marlon Samuels not out 126
Denesh Ramdin c Jadeja b Mohammed Shami 61
Kieron Pollard b Mohammed Shami 2
Andre Russell c Kohli b Mohammed Shami 1
Darren Sammy not out 10
Extras (b 7, lb 5, w 17, nb 1) 30
Total (for six wickets in 50 overs) 321

Fall of wickets: 1-34 (Dwayne Bravo, 7.1 overs), 2-98 (Smith, 17.2), 3-120 (Darren Bravo, 22.3), 4-285 (Ramdin, 45.4), 5-296 (Pollard, 47.3), 6-298 (Russell, 47.6)

Bhuvneshwar Kumar 10-1-38-0
Mohit Sharma 9-0-61-0
Mohammed Shami 9-1-66-4
Ravindra Jadeja 10-0-58-1
Amit Mishra 10-0-72-1
Suresh Raina 2-0-14-0

Ajinkya Rahane run out 24
Shikhar Dhawan b Samuels 68
Virat Kohli c Sammy b Taylor 2
Ambati Rayudu c Benn b Russell 13
Suresh Raina b Dwayne Bravo 0
Mahendra Singh Dhoni b Sammy 8
Ravindra Jadeja not out 33
Bhuvneshwar Kumar c Sammy b Samuels 2
Amit Mishra lbw Dwayne Bravo 5
Mohit Sharma c Taylor b Rampaul 8
Mohammed Shami b Rampaul 19
Extras (lb 1, w 14) 15
Total (all out in 41 overs) 197

Fall of wickets: 1-49 (Rahane, 8.4 overs), 2-55 (Kohli, 9.5), 3-82 (Rayudu, 15.5), 4-83 (Raina, 16.2), 5-114 (Dhoni, 25.1), 6-134 (Dhawan, 28.4), 7-138 (Kumar, 30.4), 8-146 (Mishra, 34.3), 9-155 (Sharma, 35.6), 10-197 (Mohammed Shami, 40.6)

Ravi Rampaul 8-0-48-2
Jerome Taylor 10-1-50-1
Dwayne Bravo 6-0-28-2
Andre Russell 4-0-21-1
Suleiman Benn 5-0-16-0
Darren Sammy 5-0-23-1
Marlon Samuels 3-0-10-2

Toss: India, who chose to field
Result: West Indies won by 124 runs, lead the 5-match series 1-0
Player of the match: Marlon Samuels (West Indies)
Umpires: Ian Gould (England) and S. Ravi
TV umpire: C. Shamshuddin
Match referee: Jeff Crowe (New Zealand)

courtesy :- IANS

courtesy :- IANS

Related posts:

Warning: file_get_contents(http://ipinfo.io/ failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 429 Too Many Requests in /home/southasiandaily/public_html/wp-content/themes/localnews/footer.php on line 84