Site icon South Asian Daily

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: BJP to contest more seats again, Congress to contest lowest since Independence

The Lok Sabha elections 2024 is special not only because Bharatiya Janata Party stalwart and Prime Miniter Narendra Modi is attempting to break the first PM of India and Congress stalwart Jawaharlal Nehru’s record of winning three consecutive Lok Sabha elections, but also because some statistics that manifest the rising political strength of the BJP under PM Modi’s leadership and continuation of Congress’ waning trend despite Rahul Gandhi’s efforts by launching Bharat Jodo Yatra and Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra.

The ruling party BJP and Congress announced almost all candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) fielded 424 candidates till now. It is likely to contest 446 seats with announcements pending for some seats of Punjab, Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, West Bengal and Ladakh. This is the fifth time when the saffron party fielded over 400 candidates in the Lok Sabha elections.

The BJP fielded 229 candidates in the 1984-1985 Lok Sabha polls, 225 in 1989, 477 in the 1991-92 polls, 471 in 1996, 388 in 1998, 339 in 1999, 364 in 2004, 433 in 2009, 428 in 2014 and 436 in 2019.

Exit mobile version