Site icon South Asian Daily

Lok Sabha Polls: Congress releases list of 8 candidates for Haryana, fields Deepender Singh Hooda from Rohtak

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: The Congress party on Thursday announced eight candidates for Haryana for the Lok Sabha polls. The party fielded sitting MP Deepender Singh Hooda from Rohtak. The other seven candidates include Varun Choudhary from Ambala-SC, Kumari Selja from Sirsa-SC, Jai Prakash from Hisar, Divyanshu Budhiraja from Karnal, Satpal Brahmachari from Sonipat, Rao Dan Singh from Bhiwani-Mahendragarh and Mahendra Pratap from Faridabad.

Congress faced criticism over delay in candidates’ announcement
The names of candidates came as over the past several days, Congress’ rivals have targeted it over alleged delay in the announcement of candidates, saying it was running away from the contest. Speaking to reporters in Karnal recently, Chief Minister Nayab Singh Saini had said the opposition party is holding meetings after meetings but is unable to firm up candidates in Haryana for the Lok Sabha polls. Some other leaders of the Congress’ rival parties have claimed there is infighting in the party’s state unit which is delaying the announcement of candidates.

Exit mobile version